Golden glory for Glenmorangie at prestigious industry competitions

— Glenmorangie’s Highland malt wins eight gold medals, with three more for Ardbeg’s Islay malt —

ISC 2016 GOLD MedalISC 2016 SILVER Medal

Glenmorangie’s exceptional single malt has been awarded an array of accolades at two influential industry competitions.  The Scottish Highland Distillery won a total of eight gold medals for expressions including Glenmorangie Original, Glenmorangie Nectar D’Or and Glenmorangie Lasanta.

Glenmorangie’s whiskies were honoured at the San Francisco World Spirits Competition (SFWSC) and at the International Spirits Competition (ISC).  Glenmorangie Original’s elegant, floral spirit won golden praise from the judges in San Francisco, as did the rich spiciness of Glenmorangie Nectar D’Or, extra-matured in Sauternes casks – and the warmth and elegance of Glenmorangie Lasanta, which is extra-matured in sherry casks.  Glenmorangie 18 Years Old was lauded with a double gold medal at the competition, while Glenmorangie 25 Years Old also achieved gold.

At the ISC, Glenmorangie 25 Years Old and Glenmorangie 18 Years Old were again singled out for gold medals, alongside the Distillery’s latest Private Edition, Glenmorangie Milsean – the first Glenmorangie expression ever to be extra-matured in deeply toasted wine casks.


Ardbeg, the world’s smokiest, peatiest Islay malt whisky, was also honoured at the competitions, with gold medals for Ardbeg Corryvreckan and Ardbeg Uigeadail at the SFWSC and an ISC gold for its limited-edition release Ardbeg Dark Cove – the darkest Ardbeg ever created.

Dr Bill Lumsden, Director of Distilling, Whisky Creation & Whisky Stocks for Glenmorangie and Ardbeg, said: “These gold medals recognise our dedication to creating exceptional whisky both for Glenmorangie and Ardbeg.”

These accolades are the latest to recognise the excellence of Glenmorangie and Ardbeg. Glenmorangie is the International Wine and Spirit Competition’s most-awarded single malt Scotch, having won more ‘best in class’ and ‘gold outstanding’ awards than any of its key competitors.  Ardbeg, known to its loyal following as the Ultimate Islay Malt, is the only single malt to win World Whisky of the Year four times in the last six years.

Glenmorangie 18 years old

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply